What If Fibro Is A Course Correction?


From what I have read and researched so far Fibromyalgia is caused by the nervous system’s reaction to an event or build up of events over time. Maybe there was an underlying condition or conditions, diagnosed or undiagnosed, that eventually leads to the body and mind saying ‘enough’.  In my case it was Central Sensitivity.

Pondering a life with Fibro during some nature therapy.

We try to live a ‘normal’ life, coping, living and working as expected, unknowingly masking for many of us, then the brakes are slammed on by illness.

The one thing that I have concluded is that being affected by Fibro is not my fault, and this makes it easier to accept as my new way of life. We go through life with the filters, understanding and expectations we are nurtured with, while trying to work out who we are, and the best fit for us in all areas of life, as dictated by the way society and the economy has evolved.

We still have to find inner strength to cope with Fibro life, and the curve ball it throws us.  Image: Anna Gregory who also lives with Fibro.

While research is still in its infancy, and yet to make any real breakthrough for mainstream medical treatments, current self management solutions encourage us to step back, take time and care of ourselves in simple ways – such as yoga, meditation, mindfulness, diet and exercise. Talking therapy is also often suggested as a way of working things through and accepting life with Fibro.

This provides time for reflection on what may be the best path forward, at least in regards to the work you do, or would be able to do, maybe for some in completely different areas of life. A job that is more meaningful perhaps, one that allows you to be more you, or engage in something you are more passionate about compared to previous roles, where you were going through the motions.

Perhaps learning to live with Fibro has ignited interests and talents that were waiting to come to the fore. How will you maintain hobbies, or as I refer to mine – creative therapies, around other obligations of life, especially if you need to step back into employment? How will you ensure you maintain balance and boundaries to manage your health challenges?

Being hit and stopped by a chronic illness certainly has made me reflect on life, life so far and what I would like to do and contribute going forward. While I still don’t know how I will function from one day to the next, despite following all self management guidelines, I do not yet see what the next step is, although I do know it will be completely different to my previous logistics management career, and ideally indulge my natural creativity in photography and music.

I constantly think about how I might monetize my photography and songwriting.   The challenge is that I don’t currently have enough energy or cognitive and executive function to research and promote, therefore I will just keep being creative, and share my efforts in whatever small way I can.  Who knows where any of this might lead?

Life with Fibro has inspired some of my songs.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.