Focusing On Smaller Details For Fibro Distraction

As you will have seen in previous posts I tend to focus my photography on the wider landscape views, but every now and then it’s nice to stop and focus on the smaller details as a distraction, something I haven’t done for some time.

Having noticed the amazing amount of butterflies in a particular area of the local woods on a previous walk, I planned to return with my 300mm lens and monopod. I don’t always carry these to keep the weight down in my backpack, and therefore help with the inevitable increase in fatigue during my walks.

Just stopping in one spot for what turned out to be 45 minutes in the sunshine, capturing the butterflies go about their day was very relaxing, a lesson in being still and mindful to capture the shots, and a great distraction from the permanent Fibro symptoms.

The monopod is an essential ability aid to keep the camera steady at 300mm, as well as supporting the camera when you have chronic fatigue. I also find it more comfortable for carrying the camera when walking rather than holding the camera directly.

All Images Copyright Dale Rockell Photography

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.